H is for HOT!

afterglow

It’s going to get to 37 today. I just made myself a coffee and glanced at the clock. It’s now 9am and it’s already 27degrees. I love warm, breezy summery weather but 37 with a northerly can feel oppressive.  There’s the beach, that can be fun, or the local pool, but you have to be in the right frame of mind.

One of the best things about being a kid was blithely playing down the beach (actually, the very beach in my photo), wilfully careless about sun-screen, time, tide, or sharks. Sure, the heat-stroke was drag, and that first hot shower stung like a million bees, but there was also red, drippy icy-poles, the tough soles of your feet, the slam of the fly-wire door and inevitable announcement that the “cool change” had arrived. When I’m finished with my coffee, I’m going to make some ice… and take cool weather comfort over at Attic24.

Leave a Reply

