I is for Inspiration

When it comes to inspiration, I go through lots of different phases – sometimes it’s about colour (right now my eyes seek out teal, turquoise, orange and cream), other times I’m more in tune with music and film, photos, websites, collections, ephemera, holidays overseas (especially Japan). Sometimes the short walk to my local bookshop or passing by an amazing front-yard veggie patch can flick the switch. Other times I just don’t notice the good stuff and suddenly I worry that I’ll never feel that creative spark again, but then I read, see or hear something and suddenly I can’t wait to start a new project.

I have a very fat, black book full of pictures from magazines and websites that I’ve been collecting for years and now it’s a huge visual encyclopedia that’s a very personal snapshot of the sorts of creative flickers that fly through my mind.

IMG_1771 IMG_1770 IMG_1765 IMG_1767

I also turn time and time again to a certain collection of books – these titles always seem to generate new ideas.

IMG_1751

52 Projects:Random Acts of Everyday Creativity by Jeffrey Yamaguchi

Pragmatic, fun, diverse range of kick-starter projects for any budget.

Camilla Engman, Uppercase

Gorgeous visual ‘look-book’ by innovative, Swedish artist/blogger.

Dottie Angel: The peachy, crafty world of Tif Fussell, Uppercase

Whimsical look at the creative life of Tif, with loads of candy coloured crochet photography.

Let’s Draw Happy People by Sachiko Umoto

I suspect this might be for children, no matter. I found this at the V&A gift store last year and have retuned to it many times. I can’t really draw, but  Sachiko’s very simple directions takes away the stress. Lots of fun.

Drawn In: A Peek Into The Inspiring Sketchbooks of 44 Fine Artists, Illustrators, Graphic Designers and Cartoonists by Julia Rothman

Sub title just about says it all. Great stuff.

In The Wilds by Nigel Peake

Inspired by nature, this book is full of incredibly intricate line-drawings of barns, fields, leaves and birds. Peake has an extraordinary ability to see the patterns inside form. I’ve looked at this book so many times…

Find&Keep by Beci Orpin

Opening this book is like falling into a jar of boiled lollies. It’s bright, cheery, and full of interesting projects, it’s also a glimpse into how Orpin creates such diverse work across dozens of mediums.

Thanks for reading…

Leave a Reply

