Life’s better with confetti

IMG_2998

I’ve always had a thing for confetti. I have a distinct memory of going to one of my cousin’s weddings when I was about five or six, and busily scrambling all over the ground in a desperate attempt to collect all the tiny, pretty, falling colours. Why were these people tossing this stuff away? Crazy. So when I spotted Beci Orpin’s new (and first) book Find&Keep, I knew I’d find something to get giddy about.

On a purely superficial level, I really like how this book is ‘made’. It’s got a sturdy cover and satisfyingly rounded corners. But there’s plenty to like on the inside too, especially Beci’s general crafting philosophy about playing around with colour and enjoying the process of being creative.

The first half of the book looks at Orpin’s work; her (now) familiar painted, wooden mushrooms, her bold geometrics, and printmaking practice while the second half is made up of projects, including altering vintage postcards, creating an inspiration wall, 3D paper boxes, sewing cushions and paper garlands. More importantly, the instructions are clear and include step by step photographs.

Here’s what Orpin has to say on the subject of confetti:

“Confetti has become a bit of a rarity these days. The proper old-school tissue paper kind, anyway. Whenever I find a newsagent that carries it, I buy up big, and subsequently have a small cupboard full of confetti boxes.”

Amen to that.

Leave a Reply

